Paddling (mis)Adventures on the (not) Humber River

Jordan-na
4 min readNov 30, 2020
Mark on his Kahuna iTouring SUP (photo by author)

This isn’t exactly what I had in mind for my first post, but here we are, portaging our boards through shallow waters, sinking as we step through mucky sand, forging our way towards what would turn out not to be our intended destination. But as I’ve found as I’ve gotten older, that is often life. It never turns out as we planned, yet if we allow ourselves to become less rigid, unexpected discoveries come our way. Let me rewind a bit.

Sunday called for warm temperatures and sunshine, the perfect recipe for a paddleboarding adventure. My husband Mark was keen to go, so I seized the opportunity, capitalizing on his burst of interest in SUP. I had been wanting to explore the Humber River and thought this a good opportunity. As someone who is a prolific paddleboarder and lives in Toronto, I am embarrassed to say that I have never gone to the Humber River. I know, shame, shame. When paddling locally, I go for the east end spots; Cherry Beach, the Beaches, Scarborough Bluffs.

We packed up the minivan and headed off. A fellow paddleboarder had recommended the Humber Bay Park boat ramp as a good launching spot. And it was; plenty of parking right near the ramp and free from October to April. Mark and I suited up, energized by the bright sunshine. The park was bustling with activity. We made small talk with a group of hobbyist scuba divers, who had just pulled up to the ramp on a zodiac after a morning plunge.

Humber Bay Park (photo by author)

We launched via the ramp into the sheltered bay which kept us protected from the 15 km/hr winds, making it an ideal spot to practice flat water skills. I marvelled at the sleek silver towers that rose above the landscape, giving the area a futuristic look. “It’s like being in Cloud City” said Mark, making a Star Wars reference as he often does. We paddled around the bend, heading between the body of water that split the west and east parts of the Humber Bay Park. I thought to myself “Ah, so glad I finally made it out here!” Mark and I were all smiles, anticipating what was sure to be a great adventure up the Humber. There was a pedestrian bridge, a large white arch connecting the two parks. People smiled and waved as we approached, including a little boy dressed as a fireman. But the water became shallow quickly, forcing Mark, who was riding our Kahuna iTouring with its long single fin, to portage through a brief section. A small inconvenience, as we had on our neoprene booties and wetsuits, and carried on, just knowing it would get better. Soon, he was able to hop back on.

Graffiti underpass (photo by author)

We paddled through an underpass with some interesting graffiti, leading to a barren tree lined Humber River, running through an urban landscape. Yet something didn’t look right. The water ahead was incredibly shallow, leading to a large bed of small stones. I scratched my head; this looked nothing like a river. It was barely a trickle, drying up as quickly as it had started. I consulted Google Maps. Sure enough, the Humber River sat 1.6 km east of where we were. The body of water we were on didn’t even warrant a name on the digital map. Later, I found out it was Mimico Creek, a 33 km stream whose name comes from an Ojibwe word meaning “abundant with wild pigeons.” We were definitely in the wrong spot.

Trumpeter swans wade as a mallard takes flight (photo by author)

Although our intended destination wasn’t too far, we’d have to traverse a section of open water on Lake Ontario. The strong west wind had created a decent swell, which would have made the return trip challenging. Being short on time and having to take our dog for her afternoon walk, we opted to stick around our current location, playing in the swell, enjoying the open water, and taking photos. We paddled into the oncoming chop, riding the swell up and down, enjoying the downwind back with a great view of the Toronto skyline in the distance. Back in the safety of the enclosed bay, we worked on Mark’s turns and admired the trumpeter swans and mallards, later learning that the park is an ideal spot for birdwatching.

Overall, it was a good day and a fun accidental discovery. With its abundant parking, location right on the water, and multiple boat ramps, the Humber Bay Park would be a nice place to launch from for a Lake Ontario excursion on a flat day. I loved exploring this small slice of the west end and hope to return soon (albeit 1.6 km to the east) for a second attempt at my inaugural Humber River paddle.

--

--